Search Follow us on Facebook
Jan 6, 2020

Bill Derickson Honored with Pioneer Award by Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas

Bill Derickson Honored with Pioneer Award by Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas

Photo, above - Left: Buddy Hasten, president and CEO of Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation (AECC). Center: Bill Derickson, Petit Jean Electric Co-op board member. Right: Michael Kirkland, Petit Jean Electric's CEO/general manager. 

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas presented a plaque to Bill Derickson of Leslie at a luncheon on December 9 in Little Rock to honor him for 35 years of selfless service to the rural electric cooperative program. Derickson and other honorees were presented an award plaque and have their name listed on a special Wall of Fame at the AECC/AECI headquarters in Little Rock.

Derickson has been a member of the Cooperative for more than 41 years. He has served on the Petit Jean Board, representing District 4, for 35 years. He has obtained the Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and maintains his Director Gold status.

Bill is a graduate of Leslie High School, attended Arkansas Tech University and is a veteran of the U.S. Navy.

He is also the former owner of Derickson Lumber Company, which was started by his grandfather, then run by his father, and is now owned/operated by his two daughters.

Derickson is a member of Gideon International. He has served as Chairman of the Board for the Leslie Medical Facility, and has served on the Leslie City Council, Leslie School Board, Searcy County Civic Center Board, the Library Board, the Economic Development Board and the board of the Arkansas Chamber of Commerce.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas Pioneer Wall of Fame Awards program was established in 2002 to recognize the dedication and efforts of directors of Arkansas’ 17 electric cooperatives.

To receive this special recognition, a director must have a minimum of 35 years of service on their local distribution cooperative board. The Pioneer Wall of Fame awards are presented each year at the Directors’ Winter Conference. Since the program was established, 75 men have been recognized.

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas and Petit Jean Electric Cooperative express their deepest gratitude to Mr. Derickson and his family for his time, commitment and dedication to the success and proliferation of the rural electrification program in the state of Arkansas.

‹ Back to News